Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



ZTE CORPORATION

中興通訊股份有限公司

(a joint stock limited company incorporated in the People's Republic of China with limited liability) (Stock Code: 763)

Announcement

Examination and Approval by the Issue Examination Committee under China Securities Regulatory Commission of the Company's Application for the Issue of Corporate Bonds

The Company and all the members of the Board of Directors confirm that all the information contained in this announcement is true, accurate and complete and that there is no false and misleading statement or material omission in this announcement.

At the 2012 First Extraordinary General Meeting of ZTE Corporation (the "Company") convened on 11 April 2012, the "Resolution on the Company's fulfillment of conditions for bond issue," "Resolution on the proposed issue of bonds" and "Resolution on submitting to the general meeting of the Company a mandate for the Board to deal with matters pertaining to the bond issue with full discretion" were considered and approved.

On 11 May 2012, the Issue Examination Committee under China Securities Regulatory Commission ("CSRC") examined the application of the Company to issue of corporate bonds. Pursuant to the results of the examination, the Company's application for the issue of corporate bonds has been unconditionally approved.

The Company will make a further announcement upon receipt of approval documents from CSRC.

By Order of the Board Hou Weigui Chairman Shenzhen, the PRC 11 May 2012

As at the date of this announcement, the Board of Directors of the Company comprises three executive directors, Shi Lirong, Yin Yimin and He Shiyou; six non-executive directors, Hou Weigui, Zhang Jianheng, Xie Weiliang, Wang Zhancheng, Zhang Junchao and Dong Lianbo; and five independent non-executive directors, Qu Xiaohui, Wei Wei, Chen Naiwei, Tan Zhenhui and Timothy Alexander Steinert.